Station No. 5


  • Station No. 5 is located at 1023 E. 900 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84102
  • It the 9th and 9th District of the city as well as the University of Utah.
  • Station No. 5 resides City Council Districts 4, 5 and 6, represented by Derek Kitchen, Erin Mendenhall and Charlie Luke (respectively).

Station History

  • The original Station No. 5 was built and opened in 1906 at 1023 E. and 900 S.
  • In 1978, the station closed, demolished and reconstructed on the same site, and it reopened in 1979.

Crews from Station 5, Ladder Truck 5 work on a tree rescue.

Services and Apparatus

  • Station No. 5 houses firefighters trained in technical rescue disciplines, and the station crews are known as a the “heavy rescue teams.”
  • This team has specialized training including rappelling, white water rescue, it has technical extrication equipment for difficult rescues, and is situated close to major hiking trails.
  • The heavy rescue team’s training allows for high angle and high space technical rescue abilities.
  • Station No. 5 is a dual-company house that includes a fire engine and fire truck.
  • Eight firefighters on three platoons have EMT and paramedic certifications on duty at all times.